闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器——哪一个最好?

闪存驱动器与外部硬盘驱动器 经常被很多人问到。 在购买外接设备之前,您必须具备以下基本知识 USB 与外部硬盘驱动器. 如果您无法弄清楚外部 SSD 或 HHD 驱动器与闪存驱动器之间的区别,请继续阅读以了解这些设备之间的区别。


1. 什么是闪存驱动器和外置硬盘驱动器?

闪存驱动器通常称为笔式驱动器,或者 USB 是用于在外部存储数据的小型驱动器。 它是一种没有物理驱动器,使用闪存作为存储介质的移动存储设备。 另一方面,通常称为移动硬盘的外部硬盘驱动器用于存储来自计算机的大容量数据。 它是一款便携式数据存储硬盘,包含大容量存储空间。

闪存盘一般使用USB Type-C和USB Type-A接口。 此功能可让您直接在 PC 或笔记本电脑中插入 USB 并交换数据。 因此,USB 使数据交换变得容易,因为 USB 中使用的引脚通常与任何计算机型号兼容。 

但是,对于外部硬盘驱动器,您必须使用计算机随附的电缆。 使用兼容电缆将数据从计算机交换到外部硬盘驱动器非常重要。 不过,要找到匹配的数据线并不难,因为大部分外置硬盘都使用USB Type-C和USB Type-A接口。 

现在,您可能会想,外部 SSD 怎么样? 嗯,外部 SSD 的功能类似于硬盘驱动器,这就是为什么我们将其包含在外部硬盘驱动器类别中而不是闪存驱动器的原因。 在本文中,我们将闪存驱动器与外部硬盘驱动器(也包括 SSD 驱动器)进行了分类。 进一步阅读以了解每个驱动器的用途以及它们之间的区别。

PS:如果您遇到 扫描并修复驱动器卡住 或者 USB设备无法识别 问题,这是为您提供的最佳解决方案。


2. 闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器

许多原因证明闪存驱动器和外部硬盘驱动器之间的比较是合理的。 请阅读以下内容以了解原因。 

此外,这里是修复的最佳方法 Steam磁盘写入错误USB 存储设备未连接 PS4 您应该检查的问题。

闪存驱动器与外部硬盘驱动器 - 容量

就 USB 与硬盘驱动器的容量而言,外置硬盘驱动器肯定会被淘汰闪存驱动器。 如前所述,外置硬盘的存储容量远大于闪存驱动器。 我们都知道闪存驱动器或笔式驱动器使用闪存作为存储数据的介质。 在另一个外部硬盘驱动器上使用磁盘作为存储数据的介质。

SSD 还使用闪存作为存储数据的介质。 众所周知,每GB闪存的成本比磁碟还高。 因此,制造商更喜欢生产磁碟外置硬盘,因为它很受欢迎。 您以相对较低的价格获得大容量存储设备,这是最划算的。 

专家提示:在功耗方面,机械外置硬盘需要额外的电力,而笔式驱动器或 USB 则不需要。 

此外,外置 SSD 驱动器比闪存驱动器具有更大的存储容量。 如果您在线搜索,您会发现 2TB 的 USB 或闪存驱动器。 另一方面,您可以轻松在线获得至少 4TB 的外置硬盘。 外置SSD大容量背后的两个原因如下。

  • 第一个原因是闪存芯片数量较多。 外置SSD有32颗NAND芯片,而闪存则只配备一两个闪存芯片。 大量的闪存芯片表明驱动器的容量更高。
  • 第二个原因是它们的使用方式不同(我们稍后会介绍这个原因)。

闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器 - 性能

直到现在,您应该都知道,由于外置硬盘的大容量,与闪存驱动器相比,该驱动器的性能会自动提高。 如果我们比较普通的外置硬盘和闪存驱动器,那么存储数据的速度要高得多。 如果您想存储少量数据,那么闪存驱动器是一种资源丰富的设备。 但是,在数据量很大的情况下,您需要外置硬盘。

因此,就闪存盘与外置硬盘的性能而言,外置硬盘无疑胜出。 如果您想知道是什么让外部 SSD 比闪存驱动器的性能更好,以下是四个原因。

1. 传输协议 

如果你在网上搜索,你会看到很多闪存驱动器仍然使用USB 2.0版本协议,而大多数外置硬盘已经切换到USB 3.0版本协议。 USB 2.0 只能传输高达 480 Mbps 的带宽(高达 60 MB/s)。 另一方面,USB 3.0 的传输带宽最高可达 5.0 Gbps(最高 500 MB/s)。

2. 主控 

与SSD类似,外置SSD使用的主控品质也非常出色。 另一方面,USB的主控比外置SSD差。

外置SSD一般采用多通道方式读写内存。 它使主控能够通过各种通道(类似于 RAID 0)并行管理各种内存芯片。 在SSD主控的帮助下,SSD最多可以增加4个甚至1个并行通道。 而闪存盘主控最多只能承载2或XNUMX个并行通道。

此外,还有一些技术缺少对U盘的主控,直接影响U盘的寿命和性能。

3.闪光颗粒

我们都知道闪光颗粒主要有三种,分别是TLC、MLC和SLC。 每个粒子每单位具有不同的存储容量。 TLC 的每个存储单元可以存储三个数据位。 相比之下,MLC可以存储两个数据位,而SLC只能存储一个数据位。 这意味着与其他两种闪存颗粒相比,TLC 闪存颗粒在每个单元中包含更多位。

此外,这允许制造商使用更少的闪存芯片生产更大的存储单元产品。 然而,它也有一些后果,比如更少的闪存芯片意味着更慢的驱动速度。 闪存驱动器使用 TLC,而外部驱动器使用 MLC 和 TLC。

4。 高速缓存

缓存是一种 DRAM 内存芯片,用于保持设备的速度差异。 它控制设备中的低速和高速差异,例如硬盘和内存。 磁盘内存首先临时存储在缓存中,有助于减少磁盘操作的实际工作。 此过程提高了磁盘速度,以比平时更快地读取和写入内存。 

在 USB 与硬盘的磁盘速度方面,外置硬盘(包括外置 SSD)包含缓存,而闪存驱动器则没有。 它负责USB的性能 和外部硬盘驱动器。

闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器 - 寿命

很明显,闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器相比,哪些驱动器具有更长的使用寿命。 显然,由于多种原因,答案是外置硬盘。 您只能使用闪存驱动器一两年。 另一方面,外置硬盘可以工作多年。 以下原因导致外置硬盘驱动器的使用寿命更长。 

1. 很少有外置硬盘是由 HDD 组成的

HDD 可以一直以相同的速度存储数据,除非它不受技术问题的限制。 而外部 SSD 和闪存驱动器一旦达到多次写入的限制就会磨损。 由于 NAND 闪存,外部 SSD 和闪存驱动器的写入次数受到限制。

2. 闪存盘主控缺少磨损均衡技术

NAND 闪存中只更新了几个块,而其他块保持不变。 因此,频繁更新的块会很快耗尽,最终影响这些设备的使用寿命。 但是,外部 SSD 包含磨损均衡技术,而笔式驱动器则没有。

磨损均衡负责平均更新每个存储块,这有助于增加驱动器的寿命。 它可以防止少数块的过度使用,并正确更新每个存储块中的数据。

闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器 - 耐用性

USB相对于硬盘的耐用性,USB领先。 外置硬盘的机械盘容易出现技术问题,而闪存驱动器没有这个问题。 这使得外置 SSD 比外置硬盘更耐用。 但是,外置 SSD 的性能仍然低于闪存驱动器。 

闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器 - 便携性

与外部硬盘驱动器相比,闪存驱动器或 USB 的尺寸和重量更小。 因此,USB 比硬盘更便携。 外置硬盘的大小分为三种,分别是3.2英寸台式机硬盘、2.5英寸HHD笔记本硬盘和1.8英寸迷你硬盘。

但是,外部硬盘驱动器的尺寸和重量仍然比 USB 大。 另一方面,您可以轻松地将 USB 放入口袋或钱包中。

闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器 - 价格

就闪存驱动器与外置硬盘驱动器的价格而言,外置硬盘驱动器更昂贵。 更大的容量和更好的性能使硬盘驱动器比闪存驱动器更昂贵。 但是,很少有闪存驱动器具有与外部 SSD 类似的存储容量和性能。 这些类型的闪存驱动器比其他普通闪存驱动器的成本更高。

顺便说一句,让我们弄清楚如何 将 exFAT 转换为 FAT32 毫不费力。


3. 如何使用 MiniTool 分区向导管理外置硬盘和闪存驱动器?

闪存驱动器的磁盘管理不允许您完全管理驱动器。 您只能格式化或从中删除一些文件。 如果您打开闪存盘的磁盘管理并右键单击闪存盘分区栏,您会发现许多选项都变灰了。

但是,MiniTool 分区向导使您可以轻松管理驱动器。 下载 MiniTool分区向导 并右键单击闪存驱动器分区选项。 这个软件可以让你 调整大小或移动 闪存驱动器分区,甚至缩小或扩展分区。 

如何使用 MiniTool 分区向导管理外部硬盘驱动器和闪存驱动器

用硬盘备份数据

MiniTool 可帮助您在外部硬盘驱动器中备份大量数据。 所以,如果你下载 MiniTool,你可以选择 复制分区向导 并在外部硬盘驱动器上备份大量数据。

用硬盘备份数据

总结

在本文中,我们为您提供了以下方面的详细信息 闪存驱动器与外部硬盘驱动器。 如果您在这件事上仍有任何问题或面临其他问题,请在下面的评论部分告诉我们。

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Which One is The Best?

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive is commonly asked by a lot of people. Before buying the external device, you must have a basic knowledge of USB vs. external hard drive. If you are unable to figure out the difference between an external SSD or HHD drive and a flash drive, then read on to understand the difference between these devices.


1. What are flash drives and external hard drives?

A flash drive is popularly known as a pen drive, or a USB is a small drive used for storing data externally. It is a mobile storage device with no physical drive and uses flash memory as a storage medium. On the other hand, an external hard drive popularly known as the mobile hard disk is used for storing large capacity data from the computer. It is a portable data storage hard drive and contains large storage space.

Generally, USB Type-C and USB Type-A interface is used in flash drive. This feature allows you to directly plug in the USB in the PC or laptop and exchange data. Hence, USB makes it easy to exchange data because the pin used in USB is generally compatible with any computer model. 

However, in the case of an external hard drive, you must use the cable that goes with your computer. It is important to use a compatible cable in order to exchange the data from the computer to the external hard drive. However, it is not hard to find a matching cable because most of the external hard drives use USB Type-C and USB Type-A interfaces. 

Now, you may think, what about external SSDs? Well, the features of external SSDs are similar to a hard drive which is why we have included it in the category of the external hard drive rather than a flash drive. In this article, we have classified Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive (which also includes SSD drive). Read further to know the use of each drive and the difference between them.

PS: if you are experiencing the scanning and repairing drive stuck or the USB device not recognized issues, here are the top solutions for you.


2. Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive

Many reasons justify the comparison between flash drives and external hard drives. Read below to know the reasons. 

Besides, here are the best methods to fix Steam Disk Write Error and the The USB storage device is not connected PS4 issue you should check out.

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Capacity

In terms of the capacity of USB vs. hard drives, external hard drives surely outcast flash drives. As mentioned earlier, the storage capacity of the external hard drive is much greater than the flash drive. We all know that a flash drive or pen drive uses flash memory as a medium for storing data. On the other external hard drive uses a magnetic platter as a medium to store data.

SSDs also use flash memory as a medium to store data. It is widely known that the cost per GB of flash memory is more than the magnetic platter. Hence, the manufacturer prefers producing magnetic platter external hard drives more because of its popularity. You get a large-capacity storage device for a comparatively low price which is the best deal. 

Expert Tip: In terms of power consumption, a mechanical external hard drive takes extra power while a pen drive or USB does not. 

Plus, external SSDs drives have more storage capacity than a flash drive. If you search online, you will find 2TB of USB or flash drive. On the other hand, you will easily get at least 4TB of external hard drive online. The two reasons behind the external SSD’s large capacities are as follow.

  • The first reason is the larger amount of flash memory chips. External SSDs have 32 NAND chips, while flash memory is just equipped with one or two flash memory chips. A large amount of flash memory chips indicates the higher capacity of the drive.
  • The second reason is that they both are used in different ways (we will cover this reason later).

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Performance

Till now, you would have known that due to the large capacity of the external hard drive, the performance of this drive automatically increases compared to a flash drive. If we compare a normal external hard drive and a flash drive, then the speed of storing data is much higher. If you want to store small bits of data, then a flash drive is a resourceful device. However, in the case of a large data size, you need an external hard drive.

Therefore, in terms of the performance of Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive, external hard drive undoubtedly wins. If you want to know what makes external SSDs better performers than flash drives, below are the four reasons.

1. Transport protocols 

If you search online, you will see that many flash drives are still using USB 2.0 version protocol while most of the external hard drive has switched to USB 3.0 version protocol. USB 2.0 can only transmit up to 480 Mbps bandwidth (up to 60 MB/s). On the other hand, the transmission bandwidth of USB 3.0 can goes up to 5.0 Gbps (up to 500 MB/s).

2. Master Control 

Similar to SSDs, the master control used by external SSDs are of excellent quality. On the other hand, the master control of USB is worst than external SSD.

The external SSDs generally use multi-channel mode to read and write memory. It enables master control to manage various memory chips parallel through various channels (similar to RAID 0). With the help of SSD master control, SSDs could increase up to 4 or even eight parallel channels. While flash drive master control can only bear parallel channels up to 1 or 2.

Furthermore, there are certain technologies that the main control of the flash drive is missing, which directly affect the lifespan and performance of the USB.

3. Flash particles

We all know that there are mainly three kinds of flash particles, namely TLC, MLC, and SLC. Each particle has a different storage capacity per unit. Each storage unit of TLC can store three data bits. In comparison, MLC can store two data bits, and SLC only one data bit. This means that TLC flash particles contain more bits in each unit compared to the other two flash particles.

Furthermore, this allows manufacturers to produce larger storage unit products with fewer flash memory chips. However, it also has consequences, like fewer flash memory chips mean slower drive speed. Flash drive uses TLC, while external drive uses MLC and TLC.

4. Cache

The cache is a DRAM memory chip that maintains the difference in the speed of the devices. It controls low-speed and high-speed differences in the devices, for instance, hard disk and memory. The disk memory is first temporarily stored in a cache that helps in reducing the actual work of disk operation. This process increases the disk speed to read and write memory faster than usual. 

In terms of disk speed of USB vs. hard drive, external hard drive (including external SSD) incorporates cache while flash drive does not. It is responsible for the performance of USB and external hard drives.

Also, if you are looking for the Best Hard Drive Docking Station, this guide is just for you.

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Lifespan

It is quite evident that which drives will have more lifespan in Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive. Obviously, the answer is an external hard drive because of many reasons. You can only use a flash drive for one or two years. On the other hand, external hard drives can work for many years. The following reasons are responsible for the larger lifespan of external hard drives. 

1. Few external hard drives are made up of HDDs

HDDs can store data with the same speed all the time until and unless it does not confine by technical issues. While external SSD and flash drive wore out once it reaches the limits of several writes. Due to NAND flashes, the number of writes is limited in external SSD and flash drives.

2. The flash drive master control lacks wear leveling technique

Only a few blocks are updated in NAND flash while others remain the same. Due to this, the frequently updated blocks get drained out quickly, which ultimately affects the lifespan of these devices. However, external SSDs contain wear-leveling technology while pen drives do not.

The wear leveling is responsible for updating each storage block averagely, which helps in increasing the life of the drive. It prevents the overuse of few blocks and properly updates the data in each storage block.

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Durability

In terms of the durability of USB vs. hard drive, USB takes the lead. The mechanical platter of external hard drives makes it vulnerable to the technical problems while flash drive does not have this problem. This makes external SSDs more durable than external hard drives. However, the performance of external SSDs is still lower than a flash drive. 

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Portability

Flash drive or USB comes in smaller size and weight compared to external hard drives. Therefore, USBs are more portable than hard drives. There are three types of external hard drives in terms of sizes, namely desktop HDD with 3.2 inches, HHD notebook with 2.5 inches, and mini HDD with 1.8 inches.

However, external hard drives are still larger in size and weight than USB. On the other hand, you can easily put a USB in your pockets or purse.

Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive – Price

In terms of the price of Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive, the external hard drive is costlier. Larger capacity and better performance make the hard drive more costly than flash drives. However, few flash drives have storage capacity and performance similar to the external SSD. These types of flash drives cost more than other usual flash drives.

By the way, let’s figure out how to convert exFAT to FAT32 effortlessly.


3. How to manage external hard drive and flash drive with MiniTool Partition Wizard?

Disk management of the flash drive does not allow you to manage the drive completely. You can only format or delete some files from it. If you open the Disk management of the flash drive and right-click on the flash drive partition column, you will notice many options are grayed out.

However, MiniTool Partition Wizard makes it easy for you to manage the drive. Download MiniTool Partition Wizard and right-click on the flash drive partition option. This software allows you to resize or move the flash drive partition and even shrink or extend the partition. 

How to manage external hard drive and flash drive with MiniTool Partition Wizard

Back up data with HDD

MiniTool helps you to back up your large data size in an external hard drive. So, if you download MiniTool, you can select Copy Partition Wizard and back up a huge amount of data on an external hard drive.

Back up data with HDD

Conclusion

In this article, we have provided you the detailed information in terms of Flash Drive vs. External Hard Drive. If you still have any problems or facing other issues in this matter, tell us in the comment section below.